5 Tips to Realistically Grow Your Instagram Account when you’re just starting out

Lewis Gavin
5 min readJan 6, 2019

In June of 2018 I started a little test. I don’t know where the idea came from but it was something that just hit me and made sense.

You like drinking craft beers. Why don’t you start sharing them on Instagram?

A relatively simple idea right? So that’s what I did. Pretty much every day since then I’ve posted a picture on Instagram. Almost all of them of a different beer and grew my account to around 3.5k followers – in just 6 months!

You can view my account here: beer.me.up.please

Now that might not seem like amazing growth if you go by the thousand other articles on this subject. However I’ve achieved this with a small amount of effort whilst still enjoying my beers and it not becoming a chore.

In this time I’ve also been asked to promote on behalf of some big brands who were willing to share their products with me in return for an honest review.

So here’s 5 things that helped me grow my account.

1. Post Everyday

If you want to gain followers you’re going to need to post everyday. Posting regularly means people see your content more often and are therefore more likely to remember you.

You also give yourself more chances to appear in all the “top” and “trending” places such as the explore feed, hashtag top posts and your followers home feed.

For my account. Posting a picture of a beer everyday seemed like a daunting task. Drinking everyday wouldn’t be good for my health so I build up a backlog from weekend drinks or asking friends to share theirs with me.

For your niche this may be easier or harder. The same rule applies:

POST EVERYDAY

Even if it means posting memes, regramming someone else’s post or sharing a text post.

2. Use the Insights feature

If you haven’t already, make your account into a business account by going into the account settings.

This will enable the insights section and allow you to see how your posts are performing and at what times your followers are…

--

--